Undergrad Wife · Young Marriage

One Year Ago | Married at 20

DSC_0006A year ago tomorrow, P proposed to me! I can’t believe it’s already been a year since all the craziness begun. Time has really flown but at the same time it really feels like forever ago that the busiest, most stressful, emotional time of my life started. For those of you that weren’t around when my blog started or haven’t heard our proposal story firsthand, check out my post on how P proposed here.

I really don’t talk about getting engaged and married young a lot on my blog. I do not feel that choosing to get married young defined who I am as a person, or at least not nearly as much as my many passions and love of schooling for my future career as a psychologist. People thought and still think we were crazy for getting engaged and married so young with such a short engagement. Sometimes I agree because of how hectic things were with a short engagement and getting married at 20, but ultimately, I’m very happy how things came together. It brought me a lot closer to my parents, made me find a new, deeper appreciation of so many things (including my parents!) and really raised my self confidence that I truly can take on anything. I never thought I’d be able to plan a wedding and move in 4 months while working part-time and going to school full-time, but I did! Never did I picture myself being calm and happy about living on the east coast, but I am! And never did I think that all of this would make me a much more motivated individual in terms of my own schooling and happiness. Looking back, I’ve grown a lot this past year and it has made me much more comfortable with life in general. Some of that growth would have come on its own, no doubt, but marriage definitely facilitated it.

My biggest hope for the next year and starting our second year of marriage here in 4 months (wow… I cannot believe I just said that! Time has flown!) is that we get to spend more time with both our families. Getting married the way we did with the Navy in the picture, it’s one thing I feel we’ve really “missed out” on. I always pictured getting married (admittedly at a much later age… for some reason the age 26-28 sticks out in my mind. Lol!) and being able to visit family and spend time with family together. Maybe its just the emotions of getting orders talking, but I know we both really want to be back by our families!

Aside from that (since thanks to the Navy we don’t have a lot of control over when we’ll get all that family time and every holiday together) I’m excited to see what adventures these next months have for P and me! It’s really been an adventure, getting married and moving the next day to the other side of the United States. I truly feel blessed to have gotten all this time with P and to have made so many wonderful adventures in South Carolina! There are so many memories here that I will cherish and I can’t wait to see what our next year has in store 🙂

xoxo

2 thoughts on “One Year Ago | Married at 20

Leave a comment