Photography

Adventures in Photography

Since moving, I have been enjoying using my camera even more. Not just for touristy pictures, but for really artistic ones too!

DSC_0211-2Like this one of my engagement ring! I recently got a set of extension tubes for my Nikon D5100. They work with all my lenses (currently consisting of an 18-55mm and an 18-200mm… although I hope to expand my collection by at least one this year ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and allow me to focus closer to the subject. Basically, they’re a cheap way to get yourself a macro lens, even though they are more of a pain to use. The set of three extension tubes I found on Amazon was only $45, compared to $500 – $1000 for a good macro lens. So I’d say fussing with the extension tubes is definitely worth it! Playing around with photographing my ring is nice because it allows me to have a nice study break without having to go someplace… which means I can get back to my classes and done even faster.

I spent about half an hour taking pictures and figuring out my extension tubes (I ended up going with the 20mm for these pictures) then used my editing software of choice (Lightroom 5) and got these:

DSC_0215-2

DSC_0264-2

DSC_0271-2

And then because it was cold enough for a sweater on the day I took these, I couldn’t resist getting a few with my favorite sweater in them too since sweaters have been a huge part of my life as a PNW girl.

DSC_0285-2

DSC_0298-2

DSC_0310-2

I’m so enjoying my camera and really learning to use it to get the artistic pictures I want in addition to just documenting my life. It’s such a fun, relaxing hobby that lets me combine art and technology.

One final picture for this post… a sunset from one of our nights here. The sunrise and sunset are typically beautiful here pretty much every night which has been super fun and special, even though most of the pictures I’ve taken of them are on my phone.

DSC_0202-2

More photography will definitely be coming to Anchor Tales, so stay tuned! We have some fun adventures coming up as well so I’m excited to share those as well in addition to getting back to my beauty and fashion posts ๐Ÿ™‚

xoxo

Lissy

5 thoughts on “Adventures in Photography

Leave a comment