Life

Things I’ve Learned in SC

A lot has happened since moving a month ago and I’ve already learned a lot of things are different here than back home, some of which I never expected:

1) My skin does not like the climate here.

Apparently there’s just something with the air, humidity, and just overall atmosphere here that really causes you (or at least me) to breakout. Luckily my research paid off and I was able to find some new skin products that keep my skin decently clear but the first few weeks were not fun. Among my finds were Philosophy’s Clear Days Ahead (which smells heavenly, btw) and The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Skin Clearing Lotion. It’s also very hard to be super diligent about face care when you could get by with only treating your skin once a day but I guess a new climate will do that to you. Hopefully I’ll be able to crack down even more on it this month so I can really start wearing makeup again!

2) Dressing like I did in the PNW sure stands out here.

No one – and I mean no one – walks around in North Face jackets here. Or dark colors. Or North Face jackets and dark colors. I’m not really sure if I like standing out or not, but it definitely feels odd to constantly feel like a tourist in the area you’re currently calling home. Even people’s lazy day outfits here are somewhat chic and put together. I’ve always been a fan of the look but the PNW definitely got to me before I moved and now it’s hard to want to be put together everyday because, well, North Faces are comfy. It’s something I’m excited to explore and try to incorporate more into my personal style though since I’ve always been drawn to preppy clothing.

3) Foods back home don’t exist here.

At least not as plentifully. Mainly I miss froyo because you were always within 10 minutes of a really good one back home. Here… not so much. The food is a lot unhealthier too and it’s been hard to find food while we’re out and about that makes my tummy happy.

4) There are no Nordstroms. 

Yep. I thought it might be true but it really really is. There is one Nordstrom Rack in the entire state and then another one will be put in this fall, probably after we’ve already left here. Thank God there are still plenty of Starbucks!

5) The area here sure is beautiful.

I love going out and taking pictures here. It’s absolutely beautiful, especially the sunrises and sunsets. I thought I would have a lot of fun exploring here, but I’m having even more fun than I ever anticipated!

DSC_0019

Till next time,

xoxo

Lissy

3 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned in SC

  1. Wow I know how you feel! It’s actually pretty interesting…We moved fairly recently from Alaska to Indiana. We’re originally from Washington. Alaska and Indiana (in the winter) are so dry, when we recently went to Washington I started breaking out because of the humidity. My skin starts to feel much more hydrated, but it always is the same way…break outs!

    We’ve lived twice in GA, and I totally understand the clothes…I could seriously life in sweatshirts! In the south people do seem to look fairly put together…With simple clothes and statement necklaces. One thing I like is the clothes are nice and airy, not sticking to your body in those humid temps. The nice thing is, the summer gives you a really nice glow!

    Oh and the food–AK, GA, and IN all don’t have what I want in the PNW…Teriyaki, a variety of good Asian foods…And small chains they have in WA! I miss it! Glad to hear that you’re adjusting to SC well! 🙂

  2. Oh how I would love to come take pictures with you in SC. I need a photographer friend who’s near me badly!

    And no froyo makes me really, really sad.

Leave a comment